Minecraft Wiki
Advertisement
Clock JE3.gif
This article needs to be updated. 
Please update this page to reflect recent updates or newly available information.
Reason: Block mechanics as of Java Edition 22w13a.
Sculk Sensor
Sculk Sensor.gif
Sculk Sensor
Renewable

Yes

Stackable

Yes (64)

Tool

Blast resistance

1.5

Hardness

1.5

Luminant

Yes (1)

Transparent

Yes

Flammable

No

Catches fire from lava

No

The sculk sensor is a block that detects vibrations caused by actions and events, and emits a redstone signal.

Obtaining[]

Chest loot[]

Item Structure Container Quantity Chance
Java Edition
Sculk Sensor Ancient City Chest 1–3 23.2%
Bedrock Edition
Sculk Sensor Ancient City Chest 1–3 23.2%

Natural generation[]

Sculk sensors generate within the deep dark biome and ancient cities.

Breaking[]

Sculk sensors can be mined with any tool, but hoes are the quickest. They are obtained by mining them with a hoe enchanted with Silk Touch, otherwise they only drop 5 experience.

Block Sculk Sensor
Hardness 1.5
Tool
Breaking time[A]
Default 2.25
Wooden 1.15
Stone 0.6
Iron 0.4
Diamond 0.3
Netherite 0.25
Golden 0.2
  1. Times are for unenchanted tools as wielded by players with no status effects, measured in seconds. For more information, see Breaking § Speed.

Post-generation[]

A sculk catalyst has a 9% chance of generating a sculk sensor on top of a sculk block.

Usage[]

Light[]

A sculk sensor has a light level of 1. However, when active, it changes to a lighter block state without a change to the light level.

Vibration detection[]

The sculk sensor vibration particle.

Sculk sensors can detect vibrations in a 9 block radius around it. A vibration is caused by many noisy events, such as a player gliding with elytra, a piston extending or a wet wolf shaking itself off. While sneaking, a player is not detected when walking, falling, or shooting a projectile.

When a vibration is made within the range of a sculk sensor, a signal travels from the vibration source to the sensor at a speed of one block per game tick (20 blocks per second). When the signal arrives, the sensor is activated for 40 game ticks (2 seconds). The sensor cannot detect any other vibrations while activated or while a signal is traveling to it.

Vibrations made by players are passed on to nearby sculk shriekers.

Sculk sensors have a cooldown period of 1 tick after being placed or after deactivating. During this short cooldown period, they cannot detect vibrations. This prevents them from activating when a contraption it is powering is being unpowered.

Sculk sensors don't detect vibrations from other sculk sources or the warden.

Wool has a special interaction with sculk sensors. If a wool block is between a sensor and a vibration source, then that sensor is not able to detect the vibration. Sculk sensors are not able to detect footsteps on wool blocks, nor can they detect when wool block items are dropped. No vibrations are produced when wool is placed, even if placed on top of the sculk sensor.

A sculk sensor activates when any item is dropped directly on top of it, including wool.

Redstone emission[]

Sculk sensors emit a redstone signal when they are activated. The strength of the redstone signal is inversely proportional to the distance the vibration signal traveled – the closer the vibration is to the sculk sensor, the stronger the redstone signal is, so it reaches the maximum redstone signal strength when the vibration is directly on top of the sensor.

Vibration amplitudes[]

Jigsaw Block (top texture) JE2 BE2.png
This section needs expansion. 
You can help by expanding it.
Instructions: Bedrock Edition values

Sculk sensors have a unique interaction with comparators. Each vibration in the game falls under a certain amplitude value. This value can be measured with a comparator as redstone output. With the right contraption, the player could detect if a certain action has occurred or is occurring nearby.

Output Vibration type Game event Description
1 Step minecraft:step An entity walks on the ground or a minecart rolls[note 1]
2 Flap minecraft:flap A flying entity (e.g. a bat) flaps its wings
3 Swim minecraft:swim Entity swimming[note 1]
4 Elytra Glide minecraft:elytra_glide Glides with elytra
5 Hit Ground minecraft:hit_ground An entity falls from enough height to take fall damage[note 1]
Teleport minecraft:teleport An entity (e.g. an enderman) teleports
6 Block Change minecraft:block_change A book is placed on a lectern, a music disc is placed or removed from a jukebox, an item is added to or removed from a flower pot, a campfire is put out or filled with food,[note 2] a candle is placed on a cake, a big dripleaf is tilted, a candle is put out, a bell is rung, a daylight detector switches mode, a bee enters or exits a beehive, wax is added or removed to a copper block, a log is stripped of its bark, grass is tilled into farmland or a path, a berry bush is harvested
Minecart Moving minecraft:minecart_moving Does not function currently[1]
Splash minecraft:splash An entity splashes in water, a boat is above a bubble column, or a boat paddles[note 3]
Entity Shake minecraft:entity_shake A wolf shakes off water after getting wet
Note Block Play minecraft:note_block_play A note block emits a sound
7 Drink minecraft:drink A potion is finished drinking.[note 4]
Prime Fuse minecraft:prime_fuse TNT or a creeper begins exploding
Projectile Shoot minecraft:projectile_shoot A projectile is fired[note 1]
8 Entity Interact minecraft:entity_interact Giving a golden apple to a zombie villager with Weakness, healing a tamed wolf, healing an iron golem, a panda is given a food item, or most instances of successfully feeding an animal.
Projectile Land minecraft:projectile_land A projectile hits something
Eat minecraft:eat A slice of cake is eaten, a horse eats,[3] a panda eats, an animal eats grass, or a player eats food.[note 5]
Entity Damage minecraft:entity_damage An entity is damaged or any entity except an armor stand is killed
9 Equip minecraft:equip An item is put on an armor stand, or armor is equipped (either through the use button, or from the inventory).
Shear minecraft:shear Use shears to disarm a tripwire, carve a pumpkin, harvest honeycomb,[note 2] remove a snow golem's pumpkin,[note 2] remove wool from a sheep[note 2], or convert a mooshroom into a cow[note 2]
Entity Roar minecraft:entity_roar A ravager roars
10 Block Close minecraft:block_close A door, trapdoor, or fence gate closes
Block Deactivate minecraft:block_deactivate A lever is turned off, or a button, tripwire, or pressure plate reverts to its unpressed state
Block Detach minecraft:block_detach A tripwire is detached
Dispense Fail minecraft:dispense_fail A dispenser fails to dispense an item. Does not work with droppers.
11 Block Open minecraft:block_open A door, trapdoor, or fence gate opens
Block Activate minecraft:block_activate A lever is tuned on, or a button, tripwire or pressure plate is activated
Block Attach minecraft:block_attach A tripwire is set
12 Block Place minecraft:block_place A block is placed; flint and steel or a fire charge is used to light a candle, cake, or campfire; or powder snow is placed on the ground[note 6]
Entity Place minecraft:entity_place An entity is spawned with an item, for example, a painting or a spawn egg[note 2]
Fluid Place minecraft:fluid_place Increasing the fluid level in a cauldron, including through weather and stalactites;[note 2] placing a fluid using a bucket, not including powder snow[4][note 2][note 7][note 8]
13 Block Destroy minecraft:block_destroy A block is destroyed[note 2], an enderman picks up a block[note 9], one of several turtle eggs on a block cracks
Entity Die minecraft:entity_die An armor stand is killed[6]
Fluid Pickup minecraft:fluid_pickup Honey is harvested with a bottle, a fluid is picked up in a bucket,[note 2] powder snow is picked up in a bucket,[note 2] a glass bottle is filled with water or dragon's breath,[note 2] or a fluid is removed from a cauldron[note 2]
14 Item Interact Finish minecraft:item_interact_finish A player reels in a fishing rod[note 1]
Container Close minecraft:container_close A chest, trapped chest, ender chest, barrel, shulker box, or shulker closes[note 10]
Piston Contract minecraft:piston_contract A piston contracts
15 Container Open minecraft:container_open A chest, trapped chest, ender chest, barrel, shulker box, shulker, a minecart with a chest or hopper opens
Piston Extend minecraft:piston_extend A piston extends
Instrument Play minecraft:instrument_play A goat horn is played
Explode minecraft:explode TNT, a creeper, or a firework rocket explodes
Lightning Strike minecraft:lightning_strike Lightning strikes
  1. a b c d e Is ignored when sneaking.
  2. a b c d e f g h i j k l m Also works with dispensers.
  3. Despite being an occurrence of splashing, sculk sensors do not detect fishing bobbers hooking a fish; this has been confirmed by Mojang to be intentional.[2]
  4. Milk does not trigger any vibration, and honey and stews trigger the eating event. See MC-213937
  5. Honey bottles and stews count as food for this case.
  6. This includes placing fire with flint and steel or a fire charge, and blocks placed by a dispenser or enderman
  7. Using fish buckets to breed axolotls does not cause this vibration. This inconsistency is intentional.[5]
  8. Replacing an existing fluid, in and out of a cauldron, does not trigger the event. See MC-213965.
  9. This does not include blocks broken by flowing water (MC-207410), nor redstone dust, redstone repeaters, redstone comparators or any type of rail being broken due to its supporting block being removed (MC-207411), nor the last slice of cake being eaten (MC-213968).
  10. Closing a minecart with a chest or with a hopper does not trigger this event. See MC-210707.

Piston interactivity[]

Sculk sensors are immovable. Pistons cannot push them, and sticky pistons cannot push or pull them. Slime blocks and honey blocks do not stick to sculk sensors and have no effect whether the slime block or honey block is being pushed or pulled.

Sounds[]

A sculk sensor is silent if waterlogged. It can still detect vibration, but does not produce sounds itself. Java Edition:

SoundSubtitlesSourceDescriptionResource locationTranslation keyVolumePitchAttenuation
distance
Block brokenBlocksOnce the block has brokenblock.sculk_sensor.breaksubtitles.block.generic.break0.91.216
Sculk Sensor starts clickingBlocksPlays when sculk sensor is activatedblock.sculk_sensor.clickingsubtitles.block.sculk_sensor.clicking0.731.016
Sculk Sensor stops clickingBlocksPlays when sculk sensor is deactivatedblock.sculk_sensor.clicking_stopsubtitles.block.sculk_sensor.clicking_stop0.621.016
None[sound 1]BlocksFalling on the block with fall damageblock.sculk_sensor.fallNone[sound 1]1.01.016
Block breakingBlocksWhile the block is in the process of being brokenblock.sculk_sensor.hitsubtitles.block.generic.hit1.01.016
Block placedBlocksWhen the block is placedblock.sculk_sensor.placesubtitles.block.generic.place0.81.216
FootstepsBlocksWalking on the blockblock.sculk_sensor.stepsubtitles.block.generic.footsteps1.01.016
  1. a b MC-177082

Bedrock Edition:[more information needed]

Data values[]

ID[]

Java Edition:

NameIdentifierFormTranslation key
Sculk Sensorsculk_sensorBlock & Itemblock.minecraft.sculk_sensor

Bedrock Edition:

NameIdentifierNumeric ID FormItem ID[i 1]Translation key
Sculk Sensorsculk_sensor562Block & Giveable Item[i 2]Identical[i 3]tile.sculk_sensor.name
  1. ID of block's direct item form, which is used in savegame files and addons.
  2. Available with /give command.
  3. The block's direct item form has the same id with the block.

Block states[]

Java Edition:

Name Default value Allowed values Description
power00
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
The sculk sensor's current power level.
sculk_sensor_phasecooldownactive
cooldown
inactive
Whether or not the sculk sensor is active.
waterloggedfalsefalse
true
Whether or not there's water in the same place as this sculk sensor.

Bedrock Edition:

NameMetadata Bits Default value Allowed valuesValues for
Metadata Bits
Description
powered_bitNot Supportedfalsefalse
true
UnsupportedWhether or not the sculk sensor is emitting power.

Achievements[]

Icon Achievement In-game description Actual requirements (if different) Gamerscore earned Trophy type (PS4)
PS4 Other platforms
Sneak 100Sneaking next to a Sculk Sensor or Warden without triggering or aggravating it.10G

Advancements[]

Icon Advancement In-game description Parent Actual requirements (if different) Resource location
Advancement-plain-raw.pngSneak 100
Sneak near a Sculk Sensor or Warden to prevent it from detecting you AdventureSneak within 8 blocks from a sculk sensor, or 16 blocks from a warden.adventure/avoid_vibration

History[]

Missing Model JE3.png
This section would benefit from the addition of more images. 
Please remove this notice once you've added suitable images to the article.
The specific instructions are: Sculk Sensor BE2 render
This section is missing information about 21w05a fixes. 
Please expand the section to include this information. Further details may exist on the talk page.
October 3, 2020Sculk Sensor (pre-release 1).gifThe sculk sensor is shown off at Minecraft Live 2020.
Sculk Sensor (pre-release item).png Item model was without tendrils since they were an entity, similar situation to the book on the enchanting table.
November 13, 2020Sculk Sensor (pre-release 2).gif The sculk sensor has a new texture and clicking animation in a tweet from Brandon Pearce.
Tendrils no longer entity and merged to block model.
November 23, 2020Sculk Sensor (pre-release 3).gif The sculk sensor has a new clicking animation in a tweet from Brandon Pearce.
November 27, 2020Inactive Sculk Sensor JE1.png The sculk sensor has a new final texture in a tweet from Brandon Pearce.
Java Edition
1.1720w49aSculk Sensor JE1.gif Inactive Sculk Sensor JE1.gif Active Sculk Sensor JE1.gif Added sculk sensor with a new inactive and clicking animation.
20w51aEating Start has been removed as an event.
Entity Hit's frequency value has changed from 9 to 8.
Container Close's frequency value has changed from 10 to 14.
Container Open's frequency value has changed from 11 to 15.
Walking on wool no longer causes vibrations.
Throwing wool as an item onto the ground no longer causes vibrations.
Sculk sensors are now silent while waterlogged.
21w05aAdded the following game events:
21w13aThe two unused textures of the calibrated sculk sensor top and side has removed.
21w19aSculk Sensors are now only accessible through commands.
1.18Experimental Snapshot 1Sculk sensors are now available in the creative inventory.
21w37aSculk sensors are once again accessible only through commands.
1.19Deep Dark Experimental Snapshot 1Sculk sensors now generate in the "Deep Dark" biome.
Sculk Sensors now drop experience when mined without Silk Touch.
Now always activate when stepped on, even when sneaking.
Has been re-added to the creative inventory.
Bedrock Edition
Caves & Cliffs
(experimental)
beta 1.16.210.56Sculk Sensor BE1.gif Added the sculk sensor. It uses a different texture from the one in Java Edition.
sculk_sensor_redstone_signal particles are also different from the ones in Java Edition.
beta 1.17.0.50Sculk sensors can now detect walking vibrations below y=0.
beta 1.17.10.20File:Sculk Sensor BE2.gif Texture changed to match Java Edition. But not the animation.
1.18.0beta 1.18.0.20Sculk sensor are now available outside experimental gameplay.
beta 1.18.0.22Sculk sensors have been moved behind the "Vanilla Experiments" experimental gameplay toggle.
Vanilla Experiments
(experimental)
beta 1.18.0.22Sculk sensors are now broken faster with an hoe.
Wild Update
(experimental)
beta 1.18.10.21Sculk sensors have been moved behind the "Wild Update" experimental gameplay toggle.
beta 1.18.30.22Added wool occlusion to sculk sensors.
Sculk sensors no longer make clicking sounds if they are waterlogged.
beta 1.18.30.28Sculk sensors now generate in the "Deep Dark" biome.
1.19.0beta 1.19.0.20Added more game events to match Java Edition.
Now always activate when stepped on, even when sneaking.
Sculk sensors are now available without enabling experimental gameplay again.
beta 1.19.0.24Sculk Sensors now drop experience when mined without Silk Touch.

Gallery[]

Issues[]

Issues relating to "Sculk Sensor" are maintained on the bug tracker. Report issues there.

Trivia[]

  • "Sculk" is derived from "skulk," meaning "keep out of sight, typically with a sinister or cowardly motive".[7]
  • Creeper footsteps do not trigger sculk sensors, unless they walk off a ledge, even if they don't take fall damage.

References[]

Advertisement