Sculk Sensor

From Minecraft Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Crafting Table JE4.png
This article describes content that may be included in Java Edition and Bedrock Edition. 
This content has appeared in Java Edition 1.17 and Bedrock Edition 1.16.230 development versions, but the full update containing it has not been released yet.
Blue Beaker BE1.png
This page contains content on features that are part of Experimental Gameplay in Bedrock Edition. 
These features may be properly added in a future update, but require the "Caves and Cliffs" option toggled to be enabled in the current version.
Sculk Sensor
Sculk Sensor JE1.gif
Sculk Sensor BE1.gif
Sculk Sensor
Sculk Sensor BE
Renewable

No

Stackable

Yes (64)

Tool

Blast resistance

1.5

Hardness

1.5

Luminant

Yes (1)

Transparent

Yes

Flammable

No

Catches fire from lava

No

The sculk sensor is a block that can detect vibrations and emit a redstone signal.

Obtaining[edit]

Sculk sensors can currently be obtained only from the creative inventory or commands.

Breaking[edit]

Sculk sensors can be mined with any tool, but hoes are the quickest.

Block Sculk Sensor
Hardness 1.5
Tool
Breaking time[A]
Default 2.25
Wooden 1.15
Stone 0.6
Iron 0.4
Diamond 0.3
Netherite 0.25
Golden 0.2
  1. Times are for unenchanted tools as wielded by players with no status effects, measured in seconds. For more information, see Breaking § Speed.

Usage[edit]

Light[edit]

An inactive sculk sensor has an inconspicuous light level of 1. However, when active, it emits a brighter yellowish light that illuminates its surroundings.

Vibration detection[edit]

The sculk sensor vibration particle.

Sculk sensors can detect vibrations in an 8 block radius around it. A vibration is anything that causes physical motion, although there are some motions that are undetectable to sensors by sneaking; these sneak-friendly vibrations include walking, falling to the ground or throwing/shooting projectiles.

Wool has a special interaction with sculk sensors. If a wool block is between a sensor and a vibration source, then that sensor is not able to detect the vibration. In addition, sensors are not able to detect walking on wool or throwing wool on the ground. ‌[Java Edition only]

When a vibration is detected, a signal is sent from the source location to the sensor at a speed of one block per game tick (20 blocks per second). Other vibrations cannot be detected by a sensor when a signal is already travelling to it. When the signal has arrived, the sensor is activated for 40 game ticks (2 seconds). While activated, the sensor cannot detect other vibrations.

Sculk sensors have a cooldown period of 1 tick after being placed or after deactivating. During this short cooldown period, it cannot detect vibrations. This is to prevent it from activating itself when a contraption it is powering is being unpowered.

Sculk sensors don't listen to vibrations that are directly created by other sculk sources.

A sculk sensor is silent if waterlogged, meaning that it can still detect vibration but does not make sounds while doing so.

Redstone emission[edit]

Sculk sensors emit a redstone signal when they are activated. The strength of the redstone signal is inversely proportional to the distance the vibration signal traveled – the closer the vibration is to the sculk sensor, the stronger the redstone signal is, so it reaches the maximum redstone signal strength when the vibration is directly on top of the sensor.

Vibration frequencies[edit]

Sculk sensors have a unique interaction with comparators. Each vibration in the game falls under a certain frequency value, and this value can be measured with a comparator as redstone output. With the right contraption, this allows the player to detect when a certain action has occurred nearby.

Output Vibration type Game event Description
1 Step minecraft:step An entity walks on the ground or a minecart rolls[note 1]
2 Flap minecraft:flap A flying entity (e.g. a bat) flaps its wings
3 Swim minecraft:swim Entity swimming[note 1]
4 Elytra Free Fall minecraft:elytra_free_fall Glides with an elytra
5 Hit Ground minecraft:hit_ground An entity falls from enough height to take fall damage[note 1]
6 Block Change minecraft:block_change A book is placed in a lectern, an item is added to or removed from a flower pot, a campfire is put out,[note 2] a candle is placed on a cake, a big dripleaf is tilted, or a candle is put out
Minecart Moving minecraft:minecart_moving Does not function currently[1]
Ring Bell minecraft:ring_bell A bell is rung
Splash minecraft:splash An entity splashes in water, a boat is above a bubble column, or a boat paddles[note 3]
Wolf Shaking minecraft:wolf_shaking A wolf shakes off water after getting wet
7 Drinking Finish minecraft:drinking_finish A potion is finished drinking.[note 4]
Prime Fuse minecraft:prime_fuse TNT or a creeper begins exploding
Projectile Shoot minecraft:projectile_shoot A projectile is fired[note 1]
8 Mob Interact minecraft:mob_interact Giving a golden apple to a zombie villager with Weakness, healing a tamed wolf, healing an iron golem, a panda is given a food item, or most instances of successfully feeding an animal.
Projectile Land minecraft:projectile_land A projectile hits something
Eat minecraft:eat A slice of cake is eaten, a horse eats,[3] a panda eats, an animal eats grass, a player eats food.[note 5]
Entity Damaged minecraft:entity_damaged An entity is damaged or any entity except an armor stand is killed
9 Equip minecraft:equip An item is put on an armor stand or armor is equipped through the use button.
Shear minecraft:shear Use shears to disarm a tripwire, carve a pumpkin, harvest honeycomb,[note 2] remove a snow golem's pumpkin,[note 2] remove wool from a sheep[note 2], or convert a mooshroom into a cow[note 2]
Ravager Roar minecraft:ravager_roar A ravager roars
10 Block Close minecraft:block_close A door, trapdoor, or fence gate closes
Block Unswitch minecraft:block_unswitch A lever is turned off
Block Unpress minecraft:block_unpress A button, tripwire, or pressure plate reverts to its unpressed state
Block Detach minecraft:block_detach A tripwire is detached
Dispense Fail minecraft:dispense_fail A dispenser fails to dispense an item. Does not work with droppers.
11 Block Open minecraft:block_open A door, trapdoor, or fence gate opens
Block Switch minecraft:block_switch A lever is turned on
Block Press minecraft:block_press A button, tripwire, or pressure plate is activated
Block Attach minecraft:block_attach A tripwire is set
12 Block Place minecraft:block_place A block is placed; flint and steel or a fire charge is used to light a candle, cake, or campfire; or powder snow is placed on the ground[note 6]
Entity Place minecraft:entity_place An entity is spawned with an item, for example, a painting or a spawn egg[note 2]
Fluid Place minecraft:fluid_place Increasing the fluid level in a cauldron, including through weather and stalactites;[note 2] placing a fluid using a bucket, not including powder snow[4][note 2][note 7][note 8]
13 Block Destroy minecraft:block_destroy A block is destroyed[note 2] or an enderman picks up a block[note 9]
Entity Killed minecraft:entity_killed An armor stand is killed[6]
Fluid Pickup minecraft:fluid_pickup Honey is harvested with a bottle, a fluid is picked up in a bucket,[note 2] powder snow is picked up in a bucket,[note 2] a glass bottle is filled with water or dragon's breath,[note 2] or a fluid is removed from a cauldron[note 2]
14 Fishing Rod Reel-In minecraft:fishing_rod_reel_in A player reels in a fishing rod
Container Close minecraft:container_close A chest, trapped chest, ender chest, barrel, or shulker box closes[note 10]
Piston Contract minecraft:piston_contract A piston contracts
Shulker Close minecraft:shulker_close Currently does not function[7]
15 Fishing Rod Cast minecraft:fishing_rod_cast A player casts a fishing rod
Container Open minecraft:container_open A chest, trapped chest, ender chest, barrel, shulker box, or a minecart with a chest or hopper opens
Explode minecraft:explode TNT, a creeper, or a firework rocket explodes
Lightning Strike minecraft:lightning_strike Lightning strikes
Piston Extend minecraft:piston_extend A piston extends
Shulker Open minecraft:shulker_open A shulker opens its shell
  1. a b c d Is ignored when sneaking.
  2. a b c d e f g h i j k l m Also works with dispensers.
  3. Despite being an occurrence of splashing, sculk sensors do not detect the sounds of fishing bobbers hooking a fish; this has been confirmed by Mojang to be intentional.[2]
  4. Milk does not trigger any vibration, and honey and stews trigger the eating event. See MC-213937
  5. Honey bottles and stews count as food for this case.
  6. This includes placing fire with flint and steel or a fire charge, and blocks placed by a dispenser or enderman
  7. Using fish buckets to breed axolotls does not cause this vibration. This inconsistency is intentional.[5]
  8. Replacing an existing fluid, in and out of a cauldron, does not trigger the event. See MC-213965.
  9. This does not include blocks broken by flowing water (MC-207410), nor redstone dust, redstone repeaters, redstone comparators or any type of rail being broken due to its supporting block being removed (MC-207411), nor the last slice of cake being eaten (MC-213968).
  10. Closing a minecart with a chest or with a hopper does not trigger this event. See MC-210707.

Sounds[edit]

Generic[edit]

Java Edition:

SoundSubtitleSourceDescriptionNamespaced IDTranslation keyVolumePitchAttenuation
distance
Block brokenBlocksOnce the block has brokenblock.sculk_sensor.breaksubtitles.block.generic.break???
None[sound 1]BlocksFalling on the block with fall damageblock.sculk_sensor.fallNone[sound 1]???
Block breakingBlocksWhile the block is in the process of being brokenblock.sculk_sensor.hitsubtitles.block.generic.hit???
Block placedBlocksWhen the block is placedblock.sculk_sensor.placesubtitles.block.generic.place???
FootstepsBlocksWalking on the blockblock.sculk_sensor.stepsubtitles.block.generic.footsteps???
  1. a b MC-177082

Bedrock Edition:[more information needed]

Unique[edit]

Java Edition:

SoundSubtitleSourceDescriptionNamespaced IDTranslation keyVolumePitchAttenuation
distance
Sculk Sensor starts clickingBlocksPlays when sculk sensor is activatedblock.sculk_sensor.clickingsubtitles.block.sculk_sensor.clicking???
Sculk Sensor stops clickingBlocksPlays when sculk sensor is deactivatedblock.sculk_sensor.clicking_stopsubtitles.block.sculk_sensor.clicking_stop???

Data values[edit]

ID[edit]

Java Edition:

NameNamespaced IDFormTranslation key
Sculk Sensorsculk_sensorBlock & Itemblock.minecraft.sculk_sensor

Bedrock Edition:

NameNamespaced IDNumeric ID FormTranslation key
Sculk Sensorsculk_sensor562Block & Itemtile.sculk_sensor.name

Block states[edit]

Java Edition:

Name Default value Allowed values Description
power00
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
The sculk sensor's current power level.
sculk_sensor_phasecooldownactive
cooldown
inactive
Whether or not the sculk sensor is active.
waterloggedfalsefalse
true
Whether or not there's water in the same place as the sculk sensor.

Bedrock Edition:

Name Default value Allowed values Description
powered_bitfalsefalse
true
Whether or not the sculk sensor is emitting power.

History[edit]

This section is missing information about 21w05a fixes. 
Please expand the section to include this information. Further details may exist on the talk page.
October 3, 2020Sculk Sensor (pre-release 1).gifThe sculk sensor is shown off at Minecraft Live 2020.
November 13, 2020Sculk Sensor (pre-release 2).gif The sculk sensor has a new texture and clicking animation in a tweet from Brandon Pearce.
November 23, 2020Sculk Sensor (pre-release 3).gif The sculk sensor has a new clicking animation in a tweet from Brandon Pearce.
November 27, 2020Inactive Sculk Sensor JE1.png The sculk sensor has a new final texture in a tweet from Brandon Pearce.
Upcoming Java Edition
1.1720w49aSculk Sensor JE1.gif Inactive Sculk Sensor JE1.gif Active Sculk Sensor JE1.gif Added sculk sensor with a new inactive and clicking animation.
20w51aEating Start has been removed as an event.
Entity Hit's frequency value has changed from 9 to 8.
Container Close's frequency value has changed from 10 to 14.
Container Open's frequency value has changed from 11 to 15.
Walking on wool no longer causes vibrations.
Throwing wool as an item onto the ground no longer causes vibrations.
Sculk sensors are now silent while waterlogged.
21w05aAdded the following game events:
21w13aThe two unused textures of the calibrated sculk sensor top and side has removed.
Bedrock Edition
1.16.210beta 1.16.210.56Sculk Sensor BE1.gif Added the sculk sensor. It uses a different texture from the one in Java Edition.
sculk_sensor_redstone_signal particles are also different from the ones in Java Edition.
releaseSculk Sensor has been made inaccessible in the full release.

Gallery[edit]

Issues[edit]

Issues relating to "Sculk Sensor" are maintained on the bug tracker. Report issues there.

Trivia[edit]

  • "Sculk" is derived from "skulk," meaning "keep out of sight, typically with a sinister or cowardly motive".[8]
  • The textures in Bedrock Edition are still the old ones from development.
    • Will most likely be changed in a future beta.[9]

References[edit]