FANDOM


Minecraft Formatting

Formatting Codes (also known as Color Codes) are codes that can add color and modifications to text in Minecraft.

Information

Texts can be formatted with the section sign "§" and that can be typed with pressing Alt + Numpad2Numpad1 or Alt + Numpad0Numpad1Numpad6Numpad7, in normal gameplay, this sign can only be entered into Book and Quills. In Minecraft: Bedrock Edition, it can also be written into signs, world names, renaming items and in the chat. However, programs and editors can be used to insert it in other locations.

Colors

MinecraftColors

Messages sent from the server to the client can contain colors, which allow coloring of text for various purposes. Hex digit to color mapping. Use § followed by the corresponding color letter/number; e.g. §e will give you yellow. The sign "§" followed by a hex digit in the message tells the client to switch colors while displaying text.

Code Official Name Technical Name Foreground Color Background Color
R G B Hex R G B Hex
§0 Black black 0 0 0 000000 0 0 0 000000
§1 Dark Blue dark_blue 0 0 170 0000AA 0 0 42 00002A
§2 Dark Green dark_green 0 170 0 00AA00 0 42 0 002A00
§3 Dark Aqua dark_aqua 0 170 170 00AAAA 0 42 42 002A2A
§4 Dark Red dark_red 170 0 0 AA0000 42 0 0 2A0000
§5 Dark Purple dark_purple 170 0 170 AA00AA 42 0 42 2A002A
§6 Gold gold 255 170 0 FFAA00 42 42 0 2A2A00
§7 Gray gray 170 170 170 AAAAAA 42 42 42 2A2A2A
§8 Dark Gray dark_gray 85 85 85 555555 21 21 21 151515
§9 Blue blue 85 85 255 5555FF 21 21 63 15153F
§a Green green 85 255 85 55FF55 21 63 21 153F15
§b Aqua aqua 85 255 255 55FFFF 21 63 63 153F3F
§c Red red 255 85 85 FF5555 63 21 21 3F1515
§d Light Purple light_purple 255 85 255 FF55FF 63 21 63 3F153F
§e Yellow yellow 255 255 85 FFFF55 63 63 21 3F3F15
§f White white 255 255 255 FFFFFF 63 63 63 3F3F3F

Trivia

  • The color codes almost exactly match, in order, the 16 colors available using a Color Graphics Adapter (CGA), as released in 1981. Only color 6 differs; the formula exception for color 6 in Minecraft, #FFAA00 – differs from that made for CGA – #AA5500.